© 2018 by Dr. Glenn Block: Website created by Austen Samolchuk

               I                 I                         I                       I                   I            I          

CONCERTS

Illinois State University Tickets

UPCOMING CONCERTS

                          

                           Illinois State UniversitySymphony

                                   2019– 2020 Concert Season

                           Dr. Glenn Block, Music Director and Conductor

                                      (as of September 1, 2019)              

                                  FIRST SEMESTER

1.Sunday, September 29, 2019 – 5:00 PM –  IMEA CLINIC: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM (CPA)

Samuel Barber – SecondEssay for Orchestra (12’)

Gounod – Ballet Music from “Faust” (18’)

Dvorak – Symphony No. 8, Op. 88 in G Major (38’)

Maestro James Liu, guest conductor (Wuhan, China)

                   

2) Sunday, November 3, 2019 – 3:00 PM – Choral/Orchestral Program (CPA)

                      Michael Tippett – A Child of Our Time (60’)

                                    Karyl Carlson, conducting

                                    Faculty Vocal Soloists

3. Wednesday, November 6 – Thursday, November 7 – ISU Symphony Chicago Tour

Yorkville, York High Schools, more schools TBA

Gounod – Ballet Music from “Faust” (18’)

Dvorak – Symphony No. 8, Op. 88 in G Major (38’)

 

4) Saturday, November 9, 2019 – 10:00 AM – MUSIC FOR ALL CONCERT - Special Needs Concert

Gounod – Ballet Music from “Faust” (18’)

Movie/Broadway Repertoire TBA

                                    

5) Saturday, December 7, 2019 – 3:00 PM, 7:00 PM -

Sunday. December 8, 2018 #3/3 - 3:00 PM    

                           (3 performances)

    29th Annual MUSIC FOR THE HOLIDAYS Concerts (CPA)

Anderson –Sleigh Ride (4’)

Shaw/Bennett – Many Moods of Christmas #4 (12’)

Handel – “Worthy is the Lamb” and final “Amen” from Messiah

 Richman – Hannukah Festival Overture (6’)

 Williams – Home Alone Suite (8’)

 Hollywood Christmas – Steven Allen Fox, guest conductor

                 

                                  SECOND SEMESTER              

 

1) “GUYS AND DOLLS” – staged musical: February 28, 2020 – March 6, 2020 – CPA Theater

Performances: Fri. February 28 #1/7, Sat. February 29 #2/7 (7:30 PM)

Sun. March 1 #3/7 (2:00 PM) – Matinee

Tues. March 3 #4/7, Wed. March 4 #5/7, Thurs. March 5 #6/7, Fri. March 6 #7/7 (7:30 PM)

                       

2)Sunday, March 29, 2020 – 7:00 PM - ISU Symphony, Maestro Maurizio Colasanti, guest conductor (Italy)

Rossini – Overture to “William Tell”(8’)

Mahler – Ruckert Lieder (20’) – Elizabeth Thompson, mezzo-soprano

Beethoven – Symphony No. 6 “Pastorale” (45’)

 

3) Saturday, April 18, 2020 – 7:00 PM Lincoln Trustees Concert                             Braden Auditorium

Rossini – Overture to “William Tell”(8’)

Copland – A Lincoln Portrait(15’) 

       President Larry Dietz, narrator

4)Sunday, April 26, 2020 – 7:00 PM: Concerto-Aria Concert (CPA Concert Hall)

Concertos TBA

Respighi – Festae Romanae (22’)

            

NOTE: All dates, repertoire and artists are subject to change.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now